EU Directive 2019/1937

The three-stage
reporting system

EU Directive 2019/1937 requires the establishment of internal and external (i.e. official) reporting systems.
Whistleblowers must also adhere to this three-stage procedure.
reporting channel
  • Possibility to report perceived grievances to the employer.
  • Confidential, sanction-free.
  • Confirmation of receipt: Feedback must be provided within one week, with information on the investigation and follow-up measures.
reporting channel
  • Article 11: Member States are obliged to provide external reporting channels and to ensure that follow-up measures are taken.
  • Authorities without jurisdiction may not take any further action. They must forward the report to the competent authority and inform the whistleblower.
  • Disclosure is only possible if both reporting channels fail and if there is a recognizable public interest.
  • The reporting party is entitled to go public with his or her information.
One reporting system - different areas

Protected legal areas

The reporting system must be used if violations, unlawful acts or abuse of rights in relation to Union law are identified.
  • 01
    Public procurement
  • 02
    Consumer protection
  • 03
    Data protection
  • 04
    Employee protection
  • 05
    Product, transport and food safety
  • 06
    Public health
  • 07
    Financial interests of the Union (tax law)
  • 08
    Internal market, in particular violations of state aid and competition law (antitrust law)